904 Canada Year Book 1980-81

The steering and sector committees monitor the progress of conversion and suggest any necessary modifications to meet changing conditions.

National Advisory Council on Fitness and Amateur Sport. The council was established in 1961 by the Fitness and Amateur Sport Act (RSC 1970, c.F-25) to advise the minister of national health and welfare on matters relating to fitness and amateur sport. The council advising the minister is an autonomous organization, composed of 30 members appointed by the Governor-in-Council, who represent every Canadian province and territory. Its committees – fitness, recreation and sport – meet periodically to discuss and examine matters related to their areas of concern. At least twice a year, a general council meeting is held and recommendations to the minister are formulated. Through numerous programs and operations, the council is involved in improving the participation of all Canadians in physical recreation and amateur sport as well as supporting Canadian athletes. It reports to Parliament through the minister of labour.

National Arts Centre Corp. The act establishing the corporation (RSC 1970, c.N-2) received assent in July 1966. The corporation consists of a board of trustees composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, the mayors of Ottawa and Hull, the director of the Canada Council, the president of the Canadian Broadcasting Corp., the government film commissioner and nine other members appointed by the Governor-in-Council for terms not exceeding three years, except for the first appointees whose terms ranged from two to four years. The objects of the corporation are to operate and maintain the National Arts Centre, to develop the performing arts in the capital region and to assist the Canada Council in development of the performing arts elsewhere in Canada. The corporation reports to Parliament through the secretary of state.

National Battlefields Commission. This commission was established by an act of Parliament in 1908 (SC 1908, cc.57-58, as amended) to acquire, restore and maintain the historic battlefields at Quebec City to form a National Battlefields Park. Composed of nine members, seven appointed by the federal government and one each by Ontario and Quebec, the commission is supported by the federal government through annual appropriations and is responsible to Parliament through the minister of the environment.

National Capital Commission. This commission is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (RSC 1970, c.N-3) to plan for and assist in the development, conservation and improvement of the national capital region. It is composed of 20 members (including the chairman) chosen from across the nation, to ensure that there will be input into its policies and activities from all regions of the country.

The commission is responsible for acquisition, development and maintenance of federal public lands in the capital region; it co-operates with municipalities in developing projects of both national and local interest and it advises the government on the siting and appearance of all federal government buildings in the 2 880 km⁴ (square kilometre) area centred on Parliament Hill in Ottawa. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of public works.

National Council of Welfare. The council is an advisory body of 21 private citizens, drawn from across Canada and appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Its members include past and present welfare recipients, public housing tenants and other low-income citizens, as well as lawyers, professors, social workers and others involved in voluntary service associations, private welfare agencies and social work education. The council advises the minister of national health and welfare on matters related to welfare. The office of the council carries out research and other support activities for the council.

National Defence, Department of. The department and the Canadian forces operate under the authority of the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4). The minister of national defence is responsible for the control and management of the Canadian forces and all matters relating to national defence and for construction and maintenance of all defence establishments and facilities required to defend Canada.

The deputy minister is the senior public servant in the department and the principal civilian adviser to the minister on all departmental affairs. He is responsible for ensuring that all policy direction from the government is reflected in the administration of the department and in military plans and operations. The chief of the defence staff is the senior military adviser to the minister and is charged with the control and administration of the forces. He is responsible for the effective conduct of military operations and the readiness of the Canadian forces to meet the commitments assigned to them by the government.

A defence council, consisting of the minister of national defence as chairman, the deputy minister of national defence, the chief of the defence staff, the vice-chief of the defence staff, the assistant deputy minister (policy), and the deputy chief of defence staff, meets as required to consider and advise on major policy matters. Defence Construction (1951) Ltd. reports to Parliament through the minister of national defence.

National Design Council (Design Canada). The council was established by an act of Parliament in 1961 (RSC 1970, c.N-5) to promote and expedite improvement of design in the products of Canadian industry. The council makes recommendations on design policies and programs, and works with departments and